Science, technology and innovation (STI) are at the core of social and economic development. The application of research and the development of new technology by our people are critical if Trinidad and Tobago is to overcome key development challenges and compete in the global markets of the future.

This was the view expressed by Dr. the Hon. Rupert Griffith, Minister of Science and Technology, in his feature address at the 2013 NIHERST Awards for Excellence in Science and Technology, held at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad, in collaboration with his Ministry and the Caribbean Academy of Sciences (CAS).

Minister Griffith spoke of government’s commitment to building national capacity in STI, and stated that highlighting the accomplishments of our scientists and rewarding them was an important part of that process.

He commended the 18 awardees, noting that their talents and achievements served as a great inspiration to young people, more of whom are needed to take the torch of STI forward for our advancement.

Distinguished keynote speaker, Prof. Michael Clegg, Donald Bren Professor of Biological Sciences at the University of California, Irvine and Foreign Secretary of the US National Academy of Sciences, affirmed that the exceptional persons being honoured represented this nation’s most important natural resource.

He reiterated that no country could expect to prosper in the 21st century without the human talent to absorb and utilise global advancements in science and technology. By this measure, he felt that Trinidad and Tobago appeared to be blessed with the human capital needed for progress in STI.

The function held on 23 November 2013, honoured eighteen (18) nationals for outstanding achievements in science and technology.

The Rudranath Capildeo Award for Applied Science & Technology
  • Dr. Roger Pulwarty (Gold)
  • Prof. Haroun Shah (Gold)
  • Dr. Shirin Haque (Silver)
  • Dr. Rohanie Maharaj (Silver)
  • Dr. Philip Phillips (Silver)
The Emmanuel Ciprian Amoroso Award for Medical Sciences
  • Prof. Dave Chadee (Gold)
  • Prof. Terrence Seemungal (Silver)
  • Prof. Lexley Pinto Pereira (Silver)
  • Dr. Ravi Birla (Silver)
The Fenrick De Four Award for Engineering
  • Prof. Richard Dawe (Gold)
  • Prof. Stephan Gift (Silver)
  • Dr. Myron Chin (Silver)
Anthony Williams Award for Technological Innovation in Arts & Culture
  • Mr. Willi Chen (Gold)
  • Mr. Jim Phillip (Gold)
The Ranjit Kumar Award for Junior Scientist
  • Engineer Savitree Singh (Silver)
The Frank Rampersad Award for Junior Scientist
  • Mr. Jahson Alemu (Silver)
  • Dr. Rajini Haraksingh (Silver)
  • Dr. Yaisa Andrews-Zwilling (Silver)