A device that stabilises the voltage in batteries even through power outages, a biosensor for detecting thyroid disorders, and a solar-powered air-conditioning unit were among the prize-winning entries at this year's Prime Minister's Awards for Scientific Ingenuity. The award ceremony was held at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad where 101 citizens were recognised for their innovative use of science and technology in inventing devices and creating solutions to problems.

In his feature address, Dr. the Honourable Rupert Griffith, Minister of Science and Technology, stressed the importance of this awards scheme and other NIH ERST initiatives in furthering national development goals in science, technology and innovation (STI). He expressed pride in the creativity and achievements of the participants, and affirmed that "this great nation [has] the right potential within our citizens to participate in the global economy, particularly in highly specialised niche markets. It is imperative, however, that we use the opportunities available to us to design, produce and sell our own technology:"

NIHERST's Acting President, Ms. Joycelyn Lee Young, reiterated the minister's sentiments, stating that "A Trinidad and Tobago that is fully geared towards the creation of new knowledge and technology offers enormous potential in three key ways: promoting economic growth, diversification and competitiveness; creating jobs; and finding solutions to both the unique problems we face as a small island developing state as well as those challenges we share with the rest of humanity":

The award scheme has two categories of competition, both open to Seniors (18 and over) and Juniors (13-17). The Scientific Innovation and Invention Competition is open to entrants with prototypes that have the potential to be successfully commercialised. The Scientific Creative Solutions Competition judges the contributions by individuals who can conceptualise solutions to everyday problems in any domain, but who are unable to take their ideas to the prototype stage.

Scientific Creative Solutions Competition Results

Junior Category

  • 1st Place
  • Shamiya Charles
  • The Ultimate Fruit and Vegetable Vendor Stand
  • The Ultimate Portion Controller

Senior Category

  • 1st Place
  • Natasha Ramroopsingh
  • A novel biosensor for detection of Thyroid disorders
  • 2nd Place
  • Ruissein Mohan
  • Future Wealth of Trinidad and Tobago
  • 3rd Place
  • Nizeette Edwards
  • Athanasios Karamalidis
  • Fate of Biocides in Produced Water

Scientific Innovation & Invention Competition

Junior Category

  • 1st Place
  • Denika Hercules
  • Lexie Jaggernauth
  • Patti-Ann Timothy
  • Portable Solar Powered AC Unit
  • 2nd Place
  • John Ahloy
  • Jesse Emamalie
  • Trini Taxi App
  • 3rd Place
  • Single Arthur
  • Seeker (Education Network)

Senior Category

  • 1st Place
  • Eesa Wahid
  • Constant voltage high lithium battery
  • 2nd Place
  • Nicholas Cyris
  • Multi-Que Barbeque Grill
  • Arched Gate Guiding & Track System
  • 3rd Place
  • Andrea Kanneh
  • Georgette Medford
  • Barry Soodeen
  • Debra Paponette
  • Developing Low-cost devices for Rehabilitation