The 4th Staging of the Prime Minister's Awards attracted hundreds of entrants, 26 of whom were honoured at the prize-giving ceremony held on Tuesday 25th November, 2008 at the Grand ballroom of the Trinidad Hilton and Conference Centre.

In delivering the feature address, the Hon. Prime Minister, Patrick Manning emphasized the critical role of the awards scheme in the government's plan to diversify the economy and promote social development through greater entrepreneurship and innovation by more of our citizens. He stressed that this was particularly important in light of the world economic situation, which would now demand more creativity from our people to generate new product and services that could stimulate small businesses. The Prime Minister expressed his gratitude to NIHERST under whose watch the scheme flourished.

NIHERST/UTT congratulates all winners as well as entrants for their amazing creativity.

Design Challenge Competition - Senior Category

  • 1st Place - Mr. Satnarine Singh
  • 2nd Place - Mr Satnarine Singh
  • 3rd Place - Mr Ronald Agular

Innovation & Inventor Competition - Junior Category

  • 1st Place - Ms Candis Ali, Ms Jacinta Bisnath, Ms Karuna Bisramsingh & Ms Shalini Budhu
  • 2nd Place - Mr Masud Mandley
  • 3rd Place - Ms Tyann Henry
  • Special Prize - Ms Jannix Joseph

Innovation & Inventor Competition - Senior Category

  • 1st Place - Mr Kendall Nurse
  • 2nd Place - Mr Rodney Belanger
  • 3rd Place - Dr Prakash Persad, Mr Narvin Ramkisson & Mr Ronnie Bickramdass

Special Prize Winners

  • Ms Merle Ramsewak
  • Dr Surendra Surujdeo-Maharaj
  • Mr Mark Jones
  • Mr Khalel Mohoyodeen & Mr Jamil Ali
  • Dr Margaret Bernard, Mr Anil Ramnanan & Mr Rajendra Singh
  • Mr Balram Seepersad
  • Ms Sarsha Lall
  • Mr Ishmael Martineaux
  • Ms Vernice Timothy